Bennett beats Bowen for Pierce chairman, all incumbents ousted

Election day was not kind to Pierce County  incumbents.

Former county commissioner Neal Bennett defeated incumbent county chairman Mitch Bowen, according to unofficial election results Tuesday night. Bennett garnered 1,675 votes to Bowen’s 1,037, or roughly 62 percent of the vote.

Former commissioner Mike Streat captured about 54.3 percent of the vote and will return to the District 2 seat after defeating Bill Cselle. Streat had 398 votes to Cselle’s 335.

In the District 4 race, Lanier Walker slid by incumbent Carl Boyette by one vote – 364 to 363 – pending final certification of the count. Walker received 50.07 percent of the vote.

Lanny David Williams defeated longtime District 2 school board member Pat Park by a total of 387 to 371. Williams received 51 percent of the vote.

In an area race, George Barnhill defeated incumbent Brad Collins 6,659 to 5,332 in the race for district attorney of the Waycross Judicial Circuit. Barnhill received just over 55 percent of the vote in the six-county district and almost 60 percent of ballots in Pierce County.

via The Blackshear Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *