Alma gets $6 million for wastewater system

Georgia Environmental Finance Authority (GEFA) Executive Director Kevin Clark announced today the approval of a Clean Water State Revolving Fund (CWSRF) loan of $6,000,000 to the City of Alma to finance upgrades to the city’s wastewater treatment facility. Clark expressed appreciation to State Representative Chuck Sims (R-Ambrose) for his support and credited the state’s commitment to helping cities and counties finance infrastructure development as one of the main contributors to GEFA’s success.

“I want to thank Mr. Clark and the board for these funds,” said Rep. Sims. “GEFA has played an integral part in helping all of Bacon County with these low-interest loans to help us catch up on our needed infrastructure projects.”

The $6,000,000 low interest loan for Alma’s wastewater treatment facility will include construction of a new .75-acre land application system, construction of associated transfer force mains and pretreatment ponds, and modification of the existing headwork to increase operational flexibility. The City of Alma will pay 1.40 percent interest on the 20-year loan of $6,000,000.

Supporters of the loan include Mayor Peggy Murphy, City Manager Nick Overstreet, City Attorney David McCrea, and Council Members John Hughes, Robert Mack, George Roberts, Glover Scott, and Rosie Williams.

The CWSRF, a federal loan program administered by GEFA, provides communities throughout Georgia with low-interest loans to fund wastewater infrastructure and water pollution reduction projects. Eligible projects include a variety of storm water and wastewater collection and treatment projects. These projects conserve and improve water resources, and facilitate economic growth and development.

Cities and counties interested in more information regarding the CWSRF should visit or call 404-584-1000.

Representative Chuck Sims represents the citizens of District 169, which includes portions of Bacon and Jeff Davis counties. He was elected into the House of Representatives in 1996, currently serves as the Chairman on the Intragovernmental Coordination Committee, and the Ex-Officio of the Appropriations Committee. He also serves on the Higher Education, State Planning & Community Affairs, and Ways & Means committees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *